Ghosts of peace agreements past, Part III

Posted: March 23, 2015 in Uncategorized

bong mendoza's blog

Three agreements were inked between the Philippine government and the Moro National Liberation—the 1976 Tripoli Agreement; the 1987 Jeddah Accord; and the 1996 Final Peace Agreement.

MNLF architects of the Tripoli Agreement

The Tripoli Agreement was reached on December 23, 1976 with the participation of the Quadripartite Ministerial Commission Members of the Islamic Conference and the Secretary General of the Organization of Islamic Conference (OIC).  Its key provisions include the establishment of an autonomous region in the Southern Philippines “within the realm of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the Republic of the Philippines” (Tripoli Agreement, para. 1).  The region shall comprise the following thirteen (13) provinces: Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, North Cotabato; Maguindanao, Sultan Kudarat, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Davao del Sur, South Cotabato, and Palawan; and all the cities and villages situated in abovementioned areas (Tripoli Agreement, para. 2).  The Tripoli…

View original post 1,031 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s